Ripley has a population of approximately 600 people. The community boasts a post office, legion, retirement home, an arena, soccer fields, a library, a school, tennis courts, three churches, a ball diamond, various stores and restaurants and a volunteer fire department.
Ripley is fortunate enough to have a cluster of businesses that specialize in handcrafted and unique items. You will find homemade jewellery and baked goods, handcrafted candles, beautiful clay and glass items created at a studio here in town, wooden rocking horses (Ripley Rockers) and more! Tour the Bruce Botanical Food Gardens, which specializes in rare and heirloom plant varieties!
The Hub of Huron
Ripley has long been known as the "Hub of Huron" for good reason. The center of the former Township of Huron, it is situated almost in the heart of the Township of Huron-Kinloss and is now the municipal seat for the amalgamated communities of the Village of Lucknow, and Kinloss and Ripley-Huron Townships. The former Ripley Township Hall was renovated and expanded in 1997 to house the new township's municipal offices.
Evicted from their crofts on Lewis Island, the Outer Hebrides, Scotland, 109 families settled in Ripley and area to work the land here. Named after a town in Derbyshire, England, the post office opened in 1857. From 1874 to 1880, the community was known as "Dingwall", before reverting back to Ripley.
The first village store was a liquor store operated by Mr. Carter. The completion of the Wellington, Grey and Bruce Railway in 1873 placed Ripley on the business map. By 1886, Ripley was a thriving community with a jewellery store, barber shop, harness shop, four general stores, two blacksmith shops, a grain elevator, two grocery stores, a carriage works, a flax mill, a brick school, a furniture store, three hotels, a bookstore, two shoe stores, a planing mill, a township and society hall, an oatmeal mill, a hardware store, a bakery, three hotels, a drugstore and four churches of various denominations.
The village was incorporated in 1925 and the first election was held on June 1, 1925. John B. Martyn was the village's first reeve and R.H. Martyn was the first clerk.
21 Queen Street, P.O. Box 130, Ripley ON N0G 2R0