Mayor and Council

The Township of Huron-Kinloss is comprised of a Mayor, Deputy Mayor and five councillors at large. The Mayor and Councillors are elected to four-year terms through the municipal election process. Council administers the public services in the Township including, administration, fire, water and waste water, public works, planning and community services. 


Mitch Twolan
Tel: 519-395-3735

Deputy Mayor

Don Murray
Tel: 519-395-4528


Lillian Abbott
Tel: 519-528-3425

Jeff Elliott
Tel: 519-395-5056

Jim Hanna
Tel: 519-395-3235

Ed McGugan
Tel: 519-812-1004

Carl Sloetjes
Tel: 519-528-2364

Council Meetings

The schedule of Council and Committee of the Whole meetings may be found on the Agenda and Minutes calendar.

2022 Council Meeting Schedule

All regular meetings are open to the public.

Individuals who submit letters and other information to Council and its advisory bodies should be aware that any personal information contained within their communications may become part of the public record and may be made available through the agenda process which includes publication on the Township's website

2022 Declarations of Pecuniary Interest

Council Code of Conduct

Delegation to Council

Members of the public who wish to make presentations to Council on their own behalf or on behalf of an organization, may complete the Delegation Request form.

Please note that the purpose of a delegation is to provide information to Council. They will provide you with a response at a later date. Each delegation is allotted 10 minutes to speak with Council. Once heard, a delegation will not be heard again on substantially the same material for six months.

Closed Sessions

The purpose of the closed session is for Council is to receive information or give direction on certain issues. The Province has set rules for a Council, local board or a committee to go into a closed meeting. These rules are found in section 239 of the Municipal Act, 2001 as amended. If you have concerns regarding a closed session please contact the Clerk at 519-395-3735. If you have further concern regarding a Closed Meeting please visit or call 1-800-263-1830.

Municipal Office

The municipal office is located at 21 Queen Street in Ripley. 

The hours of operation are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday.

The office is fully wheelchair accessible.